top of page

How Going Off Birth Control Led to Gaining Back 70lbs


Well here I am, 70lbs back at the beginning, and why? Let me tell you!


Let’s go back to 2018 shall we, real quick. I needed to lose weight, didn’t think I could, cut carbs and soda and began tracking my progress and accountability on Instagram when Keto began showing up. I looked into it, did my research and I figured, “Heck, I’m already cutting all this out so let’s make it a healthy journey too!”. Losing 70 pounds was an incredible achievement in my life, mainly because I never thought I had the willpower and I was so extremely depressed. After losing that weight and begging my husband to help me stay on course ( honestly both of us did amazing at doing so) what happened next took me by complete surprise.


I found myself slowly gaining the weight back, and I couldn’t understand why. I was doing everything like before, cycling my carb days, intermittent fasting, OMAD and all of a sudden I was spiralling, trying to do everything all at once because nothing was working. Now, I knew better! I knew that wasn’t the way to do it and I was overloading my body and my mental state but I felt like a fraud until just recently, because I had a feeling people were talking about my weight gain as a certified coach (That’s that negativity bias coming through)! It wasn’t until I began reading into the effects of going off birth control that I discovered a crucial piece of the puzzle. That’s what changed.


This is why I want to share my personal experience with hormone imbalance that can occur when discontinuing birth control, and explain the benefits of understanding our menstrual cycles.


Before we dive into the complexities of hormones and birth control, let’s celebrate the success of losing 70 pounds. It was an incredible journey, filled with hard work and dedication. I learned so much, between doing my own research and going back to school, it set me on a whole life changing path, which is where I am today. It was beyond important for me to be armed with all the information I needed to be able to assist not only myself but other women who could and most definitely are going through the same.


The Decision to Go Off Birth Control


Like many women, I decided to go off prescription birth control for various reasons. The first reason was to allow my body to regain its natural rhythm and for me to listen to it more in depth; secondly because of concerns of potential side effects. the cost. Regardless of the reason, this decision triggered a chain reaction in my body.


Hormone Imbalance After Stopping Birth Control


Going off birth control can disrupt our hormonal balance. Suddenly, our bodies need to recalibrate and reestablish their natural cycles. This transition can lead to various symptoms, including weight gain. Explaining these changes can help women understand why it’s happening and that they’re not alone.


Birth control, like the pill, patch, or IUD, affects a woman's hormones to prevent pregnancy. When you stop using it, your body goes through changes. Here’s an easier way to understand this:


Birth control contains hormones (usually estrogen and progestin) that mimic pregnancy. They prevent your ovaries from releasing eggs (ovulation) and make it harder for sperm to reach the egg.


When you stop taking birth control, your body needs time to adjust. Your ovaries start producing hormones again, including estrogen and progesterone. This can lead to more regular menstrual cycles.


As your natural hormones come back, you may become fertile again. So, if you're not ready to conceive, it's crucial to use another form of contraception.


Some women might experience changes in mood, skin, or menstrual flow when they stop birth control. These symptoms can vary widely from person to person.


The Importance of Understanding Your Menstrual Cycle


One of the benefits of discontinuing prescription birth control is gaining a deeper understanding of your body and menstrual cycle. It’s a chance to reconnect with your natural rhythm and learn to listen to what your body is telling you.


While going off birth control may be the right choice for some, it’s essential to consult a healthcare professional before making this decision. I’ll be very honest when I tell you I didn’t do this and that’s the whole point to this blog post. They can provide guidance and help you choose the best contraceptive method for your unique needs and goals. Whether you opt for natural family planning or explore alternative birth control options, the key is to make informed choices. I personally have decided to just monitor my menstrual cycle monthly by using a tracking app and I have learned so much in this past year about my cycle that it’s no longer a guessing game. I am so aware of how I feel and can quite accurately pinpoint where I’m at in my cycle and it’s amazing! It’s so freeing and less stressful.


I know many women will be saying;


“What if I get pregnant”

“I can’t risk it”

“I need the pill to keep me on track”

“The pill helps my cramps”


All these concerns are valid and I recognise them as my own in the beginning, I will also say that in my experience, ALL of this becomes so much easier to manage. You just know, you are so in tune to what’s going on in your body that you know exactly what, how, and when.


Me and my husband have two beautiful children, a boy and a girl, and believe us, we are very adamant in not wanting any more. So my fear when I began my journey of naturally tracking my menstrual cycle was so high! I was extremely careful to the point maybe obsessive and we “celebrated” not being pregnant every month thereafter. I slowly got into a routine and realised that I was doing exactly what I needed to do for me and my mental well being, even if it meant gaining back my weight, but I also saw so many things in me shift, and a major one was my depression.


I am now a full year into my no contraceptive journey and we haven’t had any mishaps with pregnancy, I don’t experience cramping (only some bloating), my migraines are now little headaches, and my periods never extend past 3 days.


My cycle has never been so regular


My weight gain after losing 70 pounds was a lesson in understanding my body’s complex hormonal balance, which was affected by discontinuing birth control. Something that I now understand better and can help another women going through the same. A trade off to releasing the grip of another pharmaceutical I didn’t want to support, and also relieving my pockets from spending so much on feminine products, as I’ve also changed to reusable menstrual pads.


So there you have it. The reason behind why I’m fat again, ha! Fear not, we don’t have to stay overweight, and if it’s your goal, like mine, to get back on track; Join me on a whole new journey of weight loss. I’m continuously learning, teaching, and loving listening to you.


Remember, consult your physician or a homeopathic doctor before making any significant changes to your contraceptive methods. Your health and well-being should always be the top priority.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page